The Unitarian Universalist Church



Be Not Afraid April 4, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. Rev. Dr. Matthew Johnson

Order of Service

Prelude "Spring Comes Early" Hayes

Sing #335 "Once When My Heart Was Passion Free"

Tabb/Kentucky Harmony

Welcome

Covenant Love is the spirit of this church,

and reason is its guide.
To dwell together in peace,
to seek truth in freedom,
and to serve human need:
this is our covenant.

Sung Response May love shine forth through us today

May light of reason guide our way May beauty, truth, and joy become A flame that burns in everyone.

Invocation

Musical Response "All Shall Be Well" Julian of Norwich/Salvaggione

Communion

Offertory "What Wonderous Love Is This" arr. Cotter

Testimony Brian Gustafson

Singing #344 "A Promise through the Ages Rings" Carpenter/Gastorius

Readings Matthew 4:1-11

From "Pilgrim at Tinker Creek" by Annie Dillard

Centering

Anthem "There Is More Love Somewhere"

Traditional Spiritual, arr. A. & M. Podd

Message Be Not Afraid

Singing #269 "Lo, the Day of Days Is Here" Hosmer/Williams

"Go your way in peace, Wander as you may; Blessed is the path you take; May love guide you on your way."



To make a donation by credit/debit card or paypal: go to uurockford.org/donate.html.

Our Mission: We care for ourselves, each other, and our neighbors and risk acting for justice. Our connections create self-acceptance, empathy, and empowerment in this inclusive and diverse community.

As a **Welcoming Congregation** we affirm and promote the inherent worth and dignity of every person irrespective of race, creed, ethnicity, national origin, age, gender, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, or physical or mental ability.

The Board of Trustees:

President: Carolyn Arevalo Clerk: Peggy Menze
Vice-President: Amanda Tapfield Treasurer: Teresa Wilmot
Trustees: Khanh Oehlke, Neita Webster, Gary Huckstep

4848 Turner Street
Rockford, Illinois 61107
Church Telephone: 815/398-6322
Church E-mail: office@uurockford.org

Website: www.uurockford.org

The Rev. Dr. Matthew Johnson, Senior Minister
Omega Burckhardt, Intern Minister
Lindsay Dunn, Director of Religious Education
Tim Anderson, Music Director
Chris Ainsworth, Membership Manager
Autumn Powell, Office Manager
The Rev. David R. Weissbard, Minister Emeritus
Kay Hotchkiss, Music Director Emerita
The Revs. Joyce Palmer, Linda Lawrence, and Linda Slabon, Affiliated Community
Ministers